Barber’s Driver Improvement Program is a 6-hour Defensive Driving Course certified by the Georgia Department of Driver's Services for ticket dismissals, points and traffic fine reduction, license suspension, reinstatement, and insurance discounts.
If you are not sure what your reinstatement requirements are or if they just seem to complex… no problem! Barber’s is here to help you.
Step 1 Select Purpose for Taking the Course
There are many reasons an individual might elect or be required to take the 6-hour Driver Improvement/Defensive Driving Course. The following are a few of these reasons:
Ticket Dismissal (Alabama)
Many courts in Alabama will dismiss a ticket for a traffic violation if the offender completes the 6-hour Defensive Driving Program. You must first go to court and ask the judge for permission to take the course. If the ticket is dismissed, there will be no points placed on your driving record and your insurance will not increase.
Points and Fine Reduction in Court (Georgia)
Don’t pay your traffic ticket at the window prior to court; if you do, the points will be added to your (MVR) Motor Vehicle Record. Instead, go to court, present your DDC Certificate of Completion to the judge and ask if they will accept the certificate and keep the points off your MVR. While you may still be charged with the violation, the points will not be added to your MVR, and the judge can reduce your fine by 20% under Georgia Law. The violation will still appear on your driving record.
Points Reduction (Georgia)
You may complete the 6-hour Defensive Driving Program once every 5 years to remove up to 7 points from your Georgia MVR to prevent your license from being revoked.
License Suspension under 21 years old (Georgia)
You must complete the 6-hour Defensive Driving Program before your license will be reinstated if you are under 21 years of age and have had your license suspended for traffic citation convictions which, singularly or combined, equal 4 points or more in a 12-month period.
License Suspension 21 and Older (Georgia)
If your license has been suspended, you must complete the 6-hour Defensive Driving Program before your license is reinstated.
If you have had a clean driving record for 3 years, you may take the 6-hour Defensive Driving Program to receive a 10% -20% discount on your auto insurance premium. The insurance discount percentage is determined by your insurance company.
Step 2 Select your Class Schedule
Now teaching all classes online via ZOOM on Sundays or Zoom/In-Person on Thursdays for our Defensive Driving program. Students can attend class by Computer, Apple iPhone or Android Phone from home and complete their classroom training.
Defensive Driving Course / Driver Improvement Program
Georgia DDS Certification # 707
1 DAY DDC Class Schedule taught online via ZOOM or In-Person
You must sign up in advance for Sunday's class so we have time to send you the zoom link for your class. Thursdays you can show up at Barber's at 2:45 or register for the zoom class by 2:30.
Step 3 Register Now
We accept Cash, Checks and Debit Cards and All Major Credit Cards