Driver Education

All classroom hours may be taken on Zoom or In-Person.

Barber's Driving School is licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver Services. Barber’s is a national award-winning locally owned private driver training school. After 58 years of research and development and with proven techniques, Barber's has engineered the art of collision prevention. We take a holistic approach to driver training, which includes training in all seven dimensions: Legal Knowledge, Mental Skills, Physical Skills, Communication Skills, Social Skills, Financial Awareness, and Planning Skills.

TEENS (Classroom Required by Joshua's Law)

You may take the classroom portion at the age of 14, the behind the wheel portion at the age 15. No learner’s permit is required to start the class, regardless of the student’s age.

Barber’s 30/6 Teen Driver Education Program satisfies Joshua’s Law. The basic course consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of private (BTW) Behind The Wheel lessons. After the completion of the basic Teen Driver Education 30/6 Course, a Barber’s Driving School Tester can administer the student’s Georgia Road Test for their Class D or C Georgia Driver’s License when he or she is eligible.

The classroom is 30 hours long and held over a 4 day period from 9am-5:30pm with a lunch break from 12:30-1:30.  The classroom may be completed in-person or on zoom.

All (BTW) Behind The Wheel lessons are scheduled by you, through DriveScout, in 3 hour sessions.   After registering the student you will receive a "Welcome to DriveScout" email.  It will contain your username and password to log in.  Please schedule these lessons ASAP as we stay booked up.  You can schedule now for future lessons.  Do not wait until you are ready, because the present times will not be available.  Barber's will pick up the student and drop off anywhere in Muscogee County and Ft. Benning for the BTW lessons.

After you schedule the driving lessons, call Barber's to schedule the Road Test.  This can be scheduled in advance but must be set up for when the student has held their permit for 1 year and 1 day.  On test day, you will bring the student to Barber's and we will test them in our car, on our course and with our instructor.  You will still need to take the paperwork to the Georgia DDS to have the license issued.  You will need your ADAP and ATTENDANCE form from your high school.  Request these forms two weeks before you plan on taking your road test.

With an insurance savings of 10%-20% per year, most parents will save close to the full basic

driver education program tuition the first couple of years their teenager is added to their policy.

Scroll down to see the schedule and package options.

ADULTS (Classroom not required - Your Option)

It’s never too late to learn to drive! Our adult students can range from 18- 100 years old. No matter how old you are, if you can pass the physical, mental and vision requirements to obtain an Alabama or Georgia Driver’s License, we can teach you to drive.

At Barber’s Driving School, you do not need a Learner’s Permit or any experience to start. We have friendly, courteous, and skillfully trained instructors who will make learning to drive a simple and fun experience. Barber’s is licensed in both Alabama and Georgia to conduct driver education courses.

Each year, Barber’s teaches hundreds of adults of all ages to drive safely and helps them to earn their Georgia or Alabama Driver’s License. We offer free pick up and drop off for your behind-the-wheel training in Muscogee County; however, you must provide your own transportation for classroom training, if you chose a combination classroom and behind the wheel package.

Adults can take the full program, which includes the 30 hours

classroom training, or just (BTW) Behind The Wheel lessons.

Scroll down to see the schedule and package options.

 

BTW Lessons (Behind The Wheel)

Barber's trains 7 days a week (BTW) Behind The Wheel from 8:00am until 8:00pm.  All Behind The Wheel lessons are private with you and the instructor.  Barber's uses our late-model, fully insured, dual-brake controlled Toyota Corollas.

All driving times are scheduled through DriveScout in 3 hour sessions. We will pick you up and drop you off anywhere in Muscogee County.

Behind The Wheel packages start with a minimum of 2 hours and go up in 2-hour increments: the more hours you purchase, the better the price.  Most beginners need on average 8-12 hours.  This heavily depends on whether you have someone to let you practice at home or not.

If you are already driving and only need help with a specific vehicle maneuver like parking, driving on interstate highways, backing, etc., you may purchase as few as 2 hours.

All driving times are by appointment in 2-3-4-6 or 8-hour sessions. We will pick you up and drop you off anywhere in Muscogee County or Ft. Benning.

Scroll down to see the schedule and package options.

2022 Driver's Education Schedule

AVAILABLE DATESDAYS OF WEEKTIME
July 11-14Monday-Thursday9am-5:30pm
July 18-21Monday-Thursday9am-5:30pm
July 25-28Monday-Thursday9am-5:30pm
August 1-4Monday-Thursday9am-5:30pm
August 20, 21, 27, 28 Sat, Sun, Sat, Sun9am-5:30pm
September 10, 11, 17, 18 Sat, Sun, Sat, Sun9am-5:30pm
September 24, 25 and October 1, 2 Sat, Sun, Sat, Sun9am-5:30pm
October 8, 15, 22, 29 Saturdays Only9am-5:30pm
November 5, 6, 12, 13 Sat, Sun, Sat, Sun9am-5:30pm
November 19-22 Saturday-Tuesday9am-5:30pm
December 3, 4, 10, 11 Sat, Sun, Sat, Sun9am-5:30pm
December 27-30 Tuesday-Friday9am-5:30pm